Effective learning & implementation with ADHD

Effective learning & implementation with ADHD

First off I want to preface this article by saying that I'm not a doctor or a neuroscientist I'm just a person who's had to come up with methods of operating that worked with my own symptoms of ADHD. I break down how I'm currently studying and working on projects now into four simple steps(again this is just whats currently working for me).

Step one - externalizing task management

In this step I use interstitial journaling to write out minimum three things I MUST do for the day and then any other task that will just make me feel good if I complete. I have my log open constantly while I'm working on anything regardless of the task; and if I really want a task done at add a box to the end of it. This initial step is very important to my work process because seeing that I'm completing things gives me an almost game like reward feedback especially if I cough cough...compliment myself on paper when completing task.

Step Two - find your own method to intake Information

First I drew on paper how I felt my brain thought and contrasted this with how I was taking linear notes. What I came up with was a technique for taking notes and understanding concepts that kind of draws inspiration from a mind map and my brains tendency to go off on tangents. For one I let my notes go off on tangents as well because it helps me maintain connections and I don't see any point in fighting how my brain likes to think if I can make it work with me.

Now I usually do this on paper but you kinda get this gist. If my brain is going to go off on a tangent anyways wouldn't those tangents then relate back to the information I want to learn anyway if I already know it. Here I could remember "Augustine by some was considered the start of medieval philosophy and he was born in 354 CE so in my notes i usually say 354 CE was the start of medieval philosophy. I remember his 3rd conversation was in a garden where he heard a voice say 'Tolle et lege'(pickup and read) and afterwards he converted to christianity". I can take notes like this very fast and completely remove distracting extraneous words.

Step Three - rapidly implement and be wrong

If we are talking about taking our philosophy class we would summarize our quick graph like I did above into structured readable text or other representations. And then I would check against greater sources to see how right I am. If programming start...freaking programming dude! Break something; I not too long ago had to learn the core MacOS filesystem and a little more bash because I wrote a very....very annoying cleaning automation script in bash which had a typo in it that moved all my system files to the pictures directory.

Step Four - reward

Once you finish doing whatever you were doing make sure you reward yourself externally in some way. Trust me it will work. When I go to the gym I bring a hand full of candy or snacks and after each workout I'll only eat one; and after successfully completing and assignment or implementing a feature a "Great Job!" to myself on paper or a rewarding cup of coffee can go a long way!